Blog

The Differences Between Halal and Kosher

To the outside observer, it may seem like halal and kosher are the same thing, particularly when it comes to diet. In both cases, those following these laws must restrict their diets. Both also famously require the eater to stay away from all foods derived from pigs.

However, there are some differences between the two that you need to know about. This is especially important if you believe that eating kosher food will help you to stick to the principles of halal.

The Slaughtering Method

Again, at first glance it may seem like the slaughtering methods for the two are the same. Kosher laws also stress the importance of taking care of the animal and kosher slaughter involve draining the blood from the carcass entirely.

However, there is one key difference that’s crucial for you to know.

Kosher law does not require the slaughterer to pronounce the name of God for every animal that they slaughter. In kosher slaughter, the name of God is only pronounced on the first and last slaughter of the day. This is because Jewish people believe that doing it more often is wasteful in the sense that they are taking their God’s name in vain.

Of course, this differs massively from halal slaughter, which requires pronouncing of Allah’s name with every slaughter. That means eating kosher means you’re taking a massive risk. There’s only a tiny percentage of the meat that’s received God’s blessing under the tenets of halal.

Furthermore, kosher only allows a specially appointed rabbi, known as a Sachet, to perform the slaughter. Under halal tenets, any sane Muslim may conduct the slaughtering of the animal.

Different Restrictions

Interestingly, kosher is perhaps a touch more restrictive in terms of the types of animals that you can eat. Kosher people may not eat rabbit, duck, goose, shellfish, or wild hens. However, each of these animals is permissible in halal, assuming that you use the correct slaughtering methods.

However, halal does have restrictions that kosher doesn’t have. The most obvious of these is alcohol. Any substance that has an intoxicating effect is not permissible under halal. However, kosher people may consume alcohol. Again, this is an important thing to look out for when eating kosher foods that don’t contain meat. They may contain alcohol or a similar intoxicant that’s actually not permissible under halal.

Staying Halal

All of this means that it’s likely not possible to eat kosher meat and still stay halal. At best, you’d have to eat either the first or last animal of the slaughter. And even then, the differences in how the two cultures pronounce then name of God likely still make the meat impermissible.

However, it’s also interesting that you’ll have to check kosher foods that don’t use meat carefully. There’s a slight possibility that those foods may use alcohol, which again is not permissible.

The safest thing to do is to stick to foods that carry certification from relevant Halal organisations. For example, the entire Najma Foods range carries certification from a variety of organisations. Find out where you can find the Najma range near you.